My Journey May 8, 2009

Today I read the article about Paula Abdul and I was appaled by the way the magazine had written the article.

It makes people who must take pain medicnes every day in order to deal with the agony that Chronic INtractable Pain seem like nothing but low-life druggies. And that is not the case.

I have RSD, Fibro, nerve damage from a broken back and a broken back. The pain is horrible. And though I do get some pain medicine it’s not enough to even help me function through the day.

I did manage to shower this morning and go to the store, but after about 5 minutes, I have to leave because the pain was so intense. I had to sit in the car and rest so that I could drive home, and the store is less than 10 minutes drive.

If you scroll all the way to the bottom there is a "contact us" there and you can leave your comments without joining or making a profile or anything.
I sent comments to 5 different news shows, The New York Times and the magazine that printed the article.

Of course, I am not expecting any answers but if you are in pain, or know someone whose life is dictated according to how the pain is at any given moment–then speak up and send off some comments.
Some years ago I wrote an editorial about what I saw happening in a nursing home. That article went nationwide and I had many offers to write from several newspapers, and even to appear in public. All of which I declined.

From that one little Letter to the Editor came the fact that now all employees working with patients in nursing homes first have to pass a three month course to be a Certified Nursing Assistant. So speak up.

Some days the pain is so intense that I can’t shower, change my clothes , eat or even sleep and making plans is impossible because everything has to be according to the pain levels at the time.

The Drs are afraid to write the prescriptions that we need to be able to function at some level. We are NOT addicts, we are people in pain and we should be treated for that pain.

The medicines were researched and manufactured for the relief of pain, so why can’t we get decent pain relief?

So many people who suffer this pain decide to stop living because they just can’t go on. Pain is exhausting and I do understand why these people choose to stop living. Personally I will live as long as possible but it would be nice to have just a little less pain.

 
What do you think?
About albanylinlin5

Love reading with my Kindle 2, Rode the big bikes all my life, but can't ride anymore. Love spending time with a special person who can enjoy b eing quiet together or out and about having fun. Love music, Susan Boyle, early Charlotte Church and more
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Journey May 8, 2009

  1. Sheila says:

    I really don’t understand doctors. The reason I say that is since you’ve been diagnosed with the disease, I can’t see why they won’t work with you in order to find either the right dose of medication or a medication which can be taken at lower doses but be just as effective at controlling the pain. They do that for everything from blood pressure meds to anti-depressants without accusing the patients of only being after "harder" drugs. Sure, you have to admit there are people who fake things to get the drugs, but there are tests to run and records to read which would prove who’s after what. Don’t they realize if you and people like you were just after the drugs, you’d be supplimenting the pain meds with illegal drugs?

Leave a Reply

